Home > Adventures, Pics > pro couchsurfer

pro couchsurfer


I've got good form in this pic, and a good base tan too

I have pseudo-embraced the homeless lifestyle here in my third day of not knowing where I’m sleeping. In hindsight I probably should have just gone home to MD and spent time with my family and friends, but that isn’t the case. I have looked into the professional couchsurfing circuit many times previously, but never used it. I have always dreamed of a time where I could just buy a plane ticket to somewhere on the map and go. Spin that globe, close my eyes, and put my finger down. I realize that 2/3 may result in my choosing a place in the middle of a body of water, but instead of flying to the spot underneath the “A” in Atlantic, I’ll just spin again until I find a landmass.

From there I want to just buy the ticket and go. No hotel plans, I want to land in country and figure it out. There is a network of adventurous people who simply travel and sleep on strangers couches. These people are called couchsurfers and I am jealous of the completely random times that they must encounter. New people every day if they do it right, new experiences all throughout. How much more could you want? A place to crash for free, built-in chauffeurs and local tour guides who are tapped right into the underground hubs of their respective cities. These are the adventures that normal tourists don’t have access to and I want that. I would love to have a partner in crime for some debauchery in another country, but I don’t think that many of my friends would be down for sleeping on stranger’s couches. Many of them watched the horror movie Hostel and rethought their vacation choices not wanting to be hacked into pieces or kidnapped. Plus some of them are germaphobes which wouldn’t work out either. Who knows what’s happened in the life of that couch, but that doesn’t bother me too much. I’ll just try not to think about it and I’ll pray that I don’t wake up in a tub filled with ice and no kidney.

I’m ready to get down with this and when I go to Japan this spring, I think this is how I will travel. The first two weeks will be in Okinawa with Kevin and his family, then back onto the mainland so I can explore. There are 5538 couches to be surfed in Japan at this very moment so I should be set for at least one of them along the way. Why wouldn’t a person want to explore real culture instead of the monetized version that the tourism industry spoon feeds us? Think about it…underground bars for locals, eating real local fare instead of winging it, learning local customs and having built-in friends to keep you company. That’s what I’m into, that’s what I’m going for, that’s what I have never done before, and I am ready for these experiences.

  1. February 7, 2011 at 23:12

    yea good thing you didn’t visit MD.
    I am not reading past that sentence as a form of protest.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

