Home > Adventures, Pics > winter x day 1

winter x day 1


Creds and a pass to all 4 mountains. Sweet

Sleep didn’t come easy last night. I wasnt quite sure why that was until I checked the thermostat in my room and it said 80! No wonder I didn’t sleep, I hung out in a sauna all night. Cant complain though because I got to see yet another sunrise and this time it was over the mountains of Aspen. I could barely see them as we rolled into town the night prior, but in the daylight these mountains are simply awe-inspiring. We are literally at the base of the mountain and within 10 minutes of the other four mountains that make up Aspen. The sun was shining yet again, lets call it bluebird and there couldn’t have been a better start for us at X.

Weather nice, credentials in hand, athletes organized, and schmooze mode on blast. We all are in agreement that there is no time for being starstruck here, this is the time to be able to reach out to these incredible athletes and spread the word of what Adaptive is up to. It started today with Sal Masekela of Stoked Mentoring and ESPN announcing fame. Amy announced with him at a previous X Games and Daniel had spoken to him several other times, but this was my first time meeting him. We talked about Stoked and then introduced him to AAS’s mission again and he seemed genuinely interested even recapping when KJ jumped the last booter on a mono-ski two years ago. He said that many people around the world felt that moment was the best at that particular X Games. That’s a bold statement when you have to consider the source and the insane athletic accomplishments that go on at each X Games like Shaun White’s domination of pipe.

Im in the back, can you see me?

Speaking of the Flying Tomato/Tomoto…we once again stepped up and introduced ourselves. I had met him at previous Games, but never really any conversation that amounted to anything until today. Amy spoke of AAS and the mission and Shaun smiled from ear to ear. You can tell why he is a fan favorite, its in his style, its in his flair. Cool kid. (I’ll apologize to my mom for not getting a pic AGAIN because she asks about him every time I come home from X. I’ll get a pic mom so you can have the Tomato in your house. And Chaz, my mini mato, thank God you are only 4 years old so you can’t read that I missed a chance for your autograph today. I’ll make it happen.) After that it was meeting Curt who founded Skate the Lake and then Barrett Christy, a pioneer in women’s snowboarding. A pretty amazing opening day for all I would have to say.

The rest of the day was filled with trying to work out athlete passes and credentials and talking out what needs to happen for the rest of the week. Lib Tech sent out some new boards for Amy and Evan Strong, but Evan’s wasnt going to work for the race so we went into town to search for something that would. Radio Board Shop hooked us up big time and now Evan’s got a Burton Custom X to scream through the Snowboarder X course. I cant wait to see this guy crush the course!

better pics tomorrow, but look at that sky!

After that it was back to the condo for homework, that’s why this is so late being posted. Five hours of homework for two separate classes was annoying, but it’s finally all finished and I can play the rest of the week!! Now off to bed because I have some riding to do tomorrow on Buttermilk before the athletes meeting at 1p. Maybe I’ll try the half-pipe or big air booter on the last run. Who know’s maybe it could happen. If you don’t hear from me tomorrow, I am in the hospital wishing I didn’t try that double cork 1080. Look it up. Only one dude does it. I’ll give you a hint, he’s a fruit.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

