Home > Adventures, Pics > crested butte day 2

crested butte day 2


Time to throw on these layers and get on the hill to dial in this new board. Nervous/anxious is the best way to describe my innards right now. I feel like I have butterflies in my stomach like on a first date. I mean, this essentially is my first date with real snow conditions on a real mountain on a real setup so I hope she treats me right. I dont mind paying for the date, I just need her to cuddle me in some powder and keep my ass from being sore in the morning. PRAY FOR ME! (@11a)

Crested Butte with AAS. No big deal

(@946p) I cannot even express through writing how amazing this day was for me, for us. Skies so clear and bright, air crisp and clean, snow just right. Not like east coast snow where its packed down and icy, too cold and dreary to be on the mountain. No. This was 30+ degrees with the sun blazing and the greatest mountain I have ever ridden.

The ride up the mountain gave me the same feeling as the ascent on a rollercoaster or stepping to the door for my first skydive. I really was nervous. More so than I thought I could be, but after the getting off the lift with no problem, I knew it was going to be a good day.

Only a half day of riding and it was all that I could’ve handled because I am really worn out as I write this. Yeah I was on the ole bum double digit times, but no major spills and all heel-side spills which saved my face. I had trouble judging my heel-side at first and needed to find the center of my weight transfer and get back to finding my stance. New boots definitely need to be broken in but this new board is primo! It feels infinitely better than the board I had been rocking in years past. There may be a reason that Burton is the king of snowboards; they make even recreational riders better! I think there are some tweaks to be made with my bindings but it felt good to accomplish so much today. The mountain treated us well this sunny Monday afternoon and I was lucky enough to hit some real deal powder for the first time. It was everything I had dreamed it would be; buttery speed filled carves and cloud-like hovering over 3 feet of powder.

Im so tired that I can’t even think about what to write here. The brain just isnt engaging. Im brain dead from a legendary day here. Quote possibly the best winter day I have ever had. I imagine that Daniel or Amy from AAS wrote something more profound than I just have so check it out.

Adaptive Action Sports blog
Amy Purdy blog

  1. January 26, 2011 at 13:55

    looks beautiful and sounds like loadsa fun. live it up!

  1. January 25, 2011 at 21:06

Leave a Reply

