Home > Food for Thought > warning labels

warning labels


seriously...beware.

After the day I’ve had, I cannot even begin to tell you the thoughts that run through my mind. BUT despite all this, it is time to stop looking back and get on with whatever is ahead. Though I would have imagined I deserved a little more than I got today, I can empathize because I must consider the source. Damaged goods are always damaged goods and that’s why you usually get the discount at the grocery store or they get thrown out with the trash. Too bad people dont come with visible warning labels or expiration dates upon introduction. Reviews like on Amazon or Yelp! would also be helpful as it would save all of us a great deal of time “investing” in people who would never return half.

Everyone has their problems and I am no stranger to this. I probably have more than the next guy or gal, but I know how to keep it at bay while still enjoying life and respecting the company I keep. RESPECT. I should have a warning label of my own. “Filled with confidence, sometimes of the false variety. Helpless romantic who can become co-dependent. Wears his emotions on his sleeve.” For all this and many more attributes that I am trying to grasp, I know there is good in me so I should probably not wish that we came with these labels.

I guess the fun in meeting someone new is the experience of getting to know him or her, not having it written out for the world to see. Not for comparison shopping or putting them up for debate. For better or for worse, the exploration of the interactions we are granted in this life help to shape our being from that time forward. Its a Catch 22. You wind up seeing the bad in people, grow bitter and begin to generalize, but at the same time you are allowed to see the good in those and hopefully this all evens out to zen. The yin and yang of the world truly puzzles me as you can tell by my writing here on this particular post. “Polar or seemingly contrary forces are interconnected and interdependent in the natural world, and how they give rise to each other in turn. Opposites thus only exist in relation to each other.”

I began the post on 8 Jan with frustration and heavy heart, but after letting it simmer, I can turn this into a positive on 12 Jan. I feel more calculated, wiser now and do not fall for being baited as easily as before. It makes me believe that I HAVE truly grown in the past year like I had been striving for. I pray this is the case.

  1. January 12, 2011 at 23:43

    I’m still easily baited… very easily.
    I need some of that growth.

    • January 14, 2011 at 00:00

      Its taken me a long time and Im a sucker for a pretty face, so it may happen again. I just feel like I recognize it now, but then again, I havent tested this theory

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

