Home > Adult Beverages, Adventures > reef cups are dangerous

reef cups are dangerous


Finger lights and long exposures are sick

so dont try one when you go to the Ocean Reef Club in Key Largo with the Walsh family. They say its “tradition” then they laugh at you when you almost fall off the bridge into the 20 foot tall mangrove trees and alligator infested waters. Thanks guys.

The night really was an awesome time because I love sitting around with this family. We had some dinner and just talked about nothing, then had a drink at the bar, and that’s when my night got interesting. A reef cup is a drink that should be reserved for spring break, but I had one because I cant

Thumbs up. I swear Im ok. Really. You dont have to take pics.

break “tradition.” After one, the ideas started flowing and I was privy to one of the greatest ideas for a story that I have ever heard. I cannot discuss it hear because it is not my idea, but I hope to collaborate on it because this idea could make the DaVinci Code look like child’s play. I have never been more serious in a comparison as I am right now with this very book idea. Its brilliant and Im pushing to start research in the near future. Its 10 years in the making so hopefully we can fast forward it a little.

We ended up taking the golf cart out onto a bridge to photograph the city and then play around with finger lights to draw out words

sweet dreams 30 yr old matthew. let the cool tile soothe you into sleeptown

with the camera’s long exposure. It was a relaxing good time, until the reef cup set in. The drive back was rough, no I didnt drive and the walk up the stairs was rougher. I admittedly slept on the tile floor for a while because it seemed like the right choice. Yes, I am too old for that. I am no longer college aged, though I attend a university. No more reef cups and I might have to start breaking “traditions.”

  1. Jamie Clemente
    January 15, 2011 at 17:59

    Matt once i had 6 reef cups proceeded to undress completely in the walsh’s house. then sat indian style naked puking orange all over my junk and their white carpet

    • January 15, 2011 at 18:03

      Its nice to know that I am not alone in this “tradition.” I didnt lose my clothes this time nor did I puke on myself, let alone my junk. BUT I know the pain these drinks cost. You and I can never hang out at Ocean Reef Club because we may end up in the mangroves.

      • Jamie Clemente
        January 16, 2011 at 13:33

        I agree us two at the reef equals court appearances

  2. Derek
    June 6, 2011 at 00:06

    Just searched for “reef cup” in google trying to find the recipe after explaining this velvet hammer’s effect to some non-reefers. Funny to see the first relevant site to come up is this one talking about the reef and the Walsh’s shenanigans. Good times

  3. Eric
    January 10, 2012 at 21:47

    I drank 4 reef cups, passed out on the bathroom floor of the Burgee Bar, then proceeded to commandeer a golf cart and drive it up and down the Airstrip on the golf course. Eventually, the golf cart died and I fell asleep on the platform at Buccaneer Island. Reef Cups are very dangerous.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

