Home > My Everyday Life > a low-key new years keeps it real

a low-key new years keeps it real


NYE in Times Square has always been on my mind and at some point in my life, I feel the need to be there. Ever since I can remember, I have watched Dick Clark reporting live from the most iconic New Year’s Eve spot on the planet and dreamed of being in that crowd. This year however, I felt no such desire to be anywhere near the city, anywhere near a large party. Maybe I was over-analyzing it too much, but the logistics behind a night in Times Square on NYE is outrageous.

Here are the facts from this year and why there was no way I was going near Times Square:
A crippling snow storm had just dumped 20″ of snow into the heart of Manhattan
Four days later, the snowy mess was still not sufficiently cleared and I am sure that TS was a mess
There are no public bathrooms. Easier for guys to deal than girls, but who wants to spend NYE without a date so ultimately we as guys do need to deal with this dilemma?
I can’t be rolling single into the festivities. That’s just sad.
There are no alcoholic drinks allowed. I’m not saying I need to have booze to have a good time, but I’m just saying. Its New Years. Come on!
The trek home from Times Square would be horrendous as the Path wouldn’t be able to handle the masses.
Gates open at 6p on the 31Dec so you had better be there earlier to grab the perfect spot.

All of these were defining factors into not exploring the idea of a TS NYE. None of the lore seemed to grab me like in past years. Not even the loft party, always a staple on holidays, was appealing. Instead the low-key approach was taken and I have to say that beyond a shadow of a doubt, it was the best choice I could have made going into the new year especially after last year’s debacle. (I can never apologize enough. SORRY! You know who you are)

The setting was an incredibly historic house built in the 1800s over top of an Indian burial ground. This is verified by a map drawn in the late 1800s that has been handed down to each new home owner. Pretty dope I must say. I have always wanted to sleep in a haunted house. This house has such immense character, oh and a cave in the basement. Yeah, a cave that they have never explored. Even doper.

Now fill that haunted house with a small entourage of friends and family and you have the perfect way to end 2010 and ring in 2011. No real frills to the night, just a great spread of food, some good mixers, beats bumping our jams from the dying year, and too many laughs. No dressing up, no hoopla, no finding your way home or locking-your-girlfriend-out-of-the-apartment-for-several-hours-while-I-slept-soundly-in-my-bed-and-she-had-to-sleep-in-the-car type of things either.

The “dougie” might have made an appearance. We may have played the same playlist four times. We may have eaten all the food in the house, but it was such a good time. What a great way to send off a friend to her next greatest adventure in London and then off to Spain for a couple years? I think all in attendance would agree that this was a new years to remember.

Added bonus for young Matthew, no hangover in the morning! Me, a 30-year-old man with 15 drinking years under his belt, as finally discovered the secret to not having a hangover. Who would have guessed that laughing is the most natural way to cure a hangover before it even begins? Try it, Chad and I can vouch!

Low-key new years keeps it real. You should try it next year. Recruit your posse well and find the perfect setting. You will not be disappointed.

  1. January 2, 2011 at 20:37

    so I should assume the debacle of last year involved you locking your girlfriend out because you were wasted?
    this sounds like a solid NYE..

    however I see your locking gf out and raise you being so drunk the night ended with my boyfriend throwing my shoes AT my best friend… yep not TO her… AT her
    thank God that was 4 years ago

    • January 2, 2011 at 20:52

      I can neither confirm nor deny last year’s events nor my use of alcohol during this period, but said gf may have been locked out of an apt in snowy Hoboken and had to drive around every hour to warm up the car she slept in then find parking again. I still think that this “tale” may outdo yours. We will leave it up for debate.

      • January 2, 2011 at 20:58

        if she’s still dating you, then I win.

      • January 2, 2011 at 21:01

        that would be a negative, so we both lose.

  2. January 2, 2011 at 21:04

    well then ummm… I don’t know what to say… uh break-ups are hard

  3. Nancy DeMarch
    January 2, 2011 at 22:17

    What a great blog Matt! So perfectly described.

  4. JLee
    January 2, 2011 at 22:31

    loved every piece of this blog… loved every piece of that night…

    we should have a mandatory house party once a month. just saying…

  1. January 3, 2011 at 15:05

Leave a Reply

