Home > My Everyday Life, Pics > the last night

the last night


hello empire state. good to see you again.

The train into Penn Station NYC was uneventful the rest of the way and upon surfacing to street level, I was finally able to see the extent of the blizzard. The clean up was still underway and seemed chaotic as people and cabs trudged through the sludge that had been left behind. I myself was very prepared for this type of atmosphere with my low top canvas Converse in white no doubt. First steps out onto 8th Ave and my feet were soaked, white shoes turned a shade of brown, and I couldnt help but laugh. I am not the brightest crayon in the box.

Walking through the city and seeing the Empire State Building lit up was great. I love standing in its shadow and having to creen my neck to see its spire. I love to see it lit up and I can only think back to what those amazing twin towers must have looked like. True wonders of the world. I regret never seeing them in person or standing on top of them to catch the greatest view of the island. This always passes through my mind when I look up at the Empire State.

Back into Hoboken to get ready for dinner and drinks in the city or so I thought. “Dinner” turned into a bunch of friends at Allie’s place and drinks flowed from there. I was definitely not thinking about a surprise party since my day had been so slow and full of delays, but it was great to have some friends around. The city never came in to play after that point because it was too far away and I was fine with that.

its written on my face, isnt it?

The decorations were all “30” inspired; my beer mug, shot glass, hat, and a balloon. To top it all off, there was an Optimus Prime balloon as well (since this guy loves his robots in disguise). It was a lot more low key than I had always imagined, but that didnt seem to matter towards the end of the night. It was quite nice to wake up in the AM and be functioning normally. Not that this is a common occurrence or anything.

If I had it my way, I would have skipped the snow, had my Squan friends around, but also some others from the past as well. But in no way can I complain as this was such a good way to start a new chapter in my life. Im officially 30 and its not so bad. I guess it wasnt the end of the world, not that I really thought that it was. I didnt jump off the Brooklyn Bridge either so I believe its all up hill from here except that I am feeling extremely run down from all this holiday/celebrating/bdaying. That’s probably a sign of being old as well huh?

Categories: My Everyday Life, Pics
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

