Home > My Everyday Life > T minus 5 days

T minus 5 days


days and counting. This is starting to consume my thoughts as people more frequently ask me “what are your bday plans” or “oh my God, what are you going to do?” They ask this like Im dying, like there is nothing after this mysterious number 30. I didnt know 30 was the end of numbers. I can think back to elementary school where we counted up to at least 47. So I am tying to play this like any other year, but with a little more pressure involved from all angles.

You thought you would have an Audi, Matt. That didnt work out nor do I care for this goal on my life list.
You thought you would have a kid by now, Matt. If you have seen him/her, please fess up so we can hang.
You thought you would know what you want to do with life, Matt. Well I have an idea, but its abstract.
You thought your 20s were going to be the best years of your life and now they’re gone, Matt. So far they have been, but my 30s have some serious life altering potential.
You thought you would have a college degree, Matt. Well, Im working on them and I grad in spring to move on to my MBA.
You thought you would have a nice lady in your life, Matt. I got tons of em, I just happen to call them friends.
You thought you would be “established,” Matt. Im not even sure what that meant without context, but I feel like I am falling into a great rhythm.

Random I know, but that is what I am pressed with this morning as Liam woke me with offerings of Diana’s breakfast from the griddle. I think we are going to become better friends now that we share one more thing…that 3 in front of our ages. Friends.

Categories: My Everyday Life
  1. JLee
    December 23, 2010 at 11:33

    “They ask this like Im dying”….

    but remember ur jumping off a bridge or two the day of???

  2. Carrie
    December 23, 2010 at 12:15

    30s are soooooo much better. And you know, if Jesus had been born just a little bit earlier, you could already be well into your 30s. It’s all very arbitrary when you think about it. No bridge jumping, Travolta. Please!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

