Home > Adventures, NYC Living, Pics > IAVA, NY Giants, JOE Joseph Abboud, JCPenney, and little ol’ me

IAVA, NY Giants, JOE Joseph Abboud, JCPenney, and little ol’ me


drip, drip, hole in the ceiling

I was so excited about today that I couldn’t sleep last night. Not so much like a kid waiting on Christmas, but like a near 30-year-old man excited to do something that I haven’t done before. This morning as I woke, I felt good, I felt like it was going to be a GOOD day. Then I heard dripping in my utility closet and the morning went to shit. Part of the ceiling fell and water is coming out of the light, the fire detector, AND the sprinkler system. Good morning to you too world.

After dealing with my unbearably South African/British landlord this morning who insisted I must be an idiot, I called the fire department to come out and inspect. Thanks Hoboken FD for coming out, but I didn’t get any help there. Upstairs tenant wasn’t any help either, awesome. With no plumber and the landlord on his way, I bolted to get to the city (maybe not the most responsible thing to do?) in time for our event at JCPenney.

The JCP in the Manhattan Mall on 33rd and 6th is massive and was a cool venue to hold this event. Right as soon as you walked into the mall, there was the event; set against the towering inside of this surprisingly ornate building. Today was yet another part of the “Welcome Home Joe” program. This fall 2010, JOE Joseph Abboud®, JCPenney and IAVA celebrated veterans with the national campaign “Welcome Home Joe,” which provided Iraq and Afghanistan veterans with $1 million in certificates to purchase professional attires as they transitioned to the civilian workforce. I have been lucky enough to be a part of this and have been smiling from ear to ear since. Today’s event was aptly named “Combat to Career” which supplied 100 female and 100 male with care packs that included items to ease the transition from military to civilian life.

Bear Pascoe on the right, that tiny spec on the left is me

Bear Pascoe on the left, that tiny spec on the right is me

JOE Joseph Abboud had their big names out, along with heads of JCP, and of course IAVA’s 30 personnel including Strat-P, models, volunteers, and Paul Rieckhoff with Todd Bowers. Soon after 1230 the “NY Area Football Players” (semantics) showed up and the flash bulbs exploded. Photo op here, photo-op there…I cannot imagine what it must be like to have to deal with this kind of attention when you walk to grab a six-pack or when you just want to be outside. The Giants filed down the line, introduced themselves, and once again the flash bulbs lit up. I had never thought about what it would be like on the red carpet, but I got a glimpse of it today folks and it is down right intimidating. This coming from me who likes to sing on bars inside bars with brand new co-workers because they are conniving swindlers and I have to fulfill promises. By the way, these guys are literally behemoth men, “Giants,” and dwarfed me. (once again chipping away at my manhood.)

I was paired up with Bear Pascoe and Matt Dodge (name brothers!) AND Meg from my beloved USA and F! Air Power! It was a lighthearted session as we bumped to the fresh Christmas remixes of Mariah Carey, Akon, and other powerhouse bubblegum pop starlets, while strangely feeling like we could also be in a gentlemen’s club during the holiday season. The playlist aside, it was a great chance to meet some individuals I would never have had the chance to AND, EVEN BETTER, help to build packages for some lucky vets that will hopefully help to ease this uncertain time of transition.

Matt Dodge, me, Bear Pascoe, Jon, Kevin Boss, Chris

It was great to meet the players, awesome to see the Joseph Abboud (happy birthday young lady!) and JCP crew again, and to tally up another amazing event with IAVA. This gang really knows how to make an impact in our veteran community and I can only hope that I am privy to more fun like this. I love my job(s)/life(s).

  1. Sam
    December 20, 2010 at 07:55

    That was a horrifying match yesterday evening, what the hell happened to the Giants ? Congrats to Vick but honestly, the Giants wasted that more than the Eagles won it

  2. December 30, 2010 at 20:49

    awesome blog, do you have twitter or facebook? i will bookmark this page thanks. jasmin holzbauer

    • January 2, 2011 at 14:57

      no twitter yet, but that’s coming in early 2011 since it seems a more suitable forum for my ADHD. Thanks for reading!

  3. July 8, 2011 at 23:41

    Appreciating the time and energy you put into your blog and in depth information you provide. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed information. Great read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    • August 18, 2011 at 18:30

      Appreciated Katharyn, I’ll be back in the blog soon with some interesting happenings over the last 6 months. Plus I have some other friends that will be writing here about facing their last days of their 20s. Thanks for the compliments. Truly appreciated.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

