Home > My Everyday Life > turkey fiasco

turkey fiasco


I woke up a little too late today, 1130 to be exact. I havent slept like that in a long time, I kind of feel bad for it. I grabbed a coffee and jumped right into Thanksgiving mode and helped out wherever I could with the prep work though mom and Larry had most of it under control. We were deep frying the turkey again this year, the only way to do it in my opinion, so I was in charge of frying the bird. Easy task when your equipment is working, but not so easy when people dont return your stuff like you leant it out. I didnt test the burner out before I put the oil on, but after 15 minutes I knew this wasnt going to work. Larry confirmed that the regulator wasnt working properly and on Thanksgiving Day we have to replace it or not have turkey. Lowe’s is closed and WalMart is the only place we could find. We had to buy a whole new setup and of course when we got it home and assembled, it didnt work correctly.

The burner wouldnt stay lit so after almost throwing it across the garage, we rigged it up with a nut and zip tie so the flame was wide open. Redneck ingenuity rules again!! Full flame burning and the peanut oil was ready in minutes. Its turkey time!! One 14 lb bird done and crispy in 45 minutes, ding dong! Yams, green bean casserole, oyster stuffing, regular stuffing, mashed potatoes and gravy, cranberry/orange zest relish, baked corn, and baked pineapple on the menu! Because of the turkey fiasco, we were behind the 8 ball with everyone of these fixins as well. Timing’s off in every aspect of the preparation and this really screwed with the day. We were almost 3 hours late on eating so tensions were a little high, a perfect thing on Thanksgiving Day. All in all we had a good meal even with all the troubles of the day. Im thankful for the company and for being home at this time. Im thankful for my friends and for my family being around to “enjoy” the day. I just wish little brother would have come through to make an appearance. Selfishness claims another family holiday. Not just for us, but for anyone who has been there and seen that. Just glad he is still around even if he isnt “around.”

If people could put aside their differences and really sit down to hash things out, life would be easier. Instead of being hardheaded, take a breath, calm down and realize time is short. My family is getting older and who knows how many more we all have together. Its sad to think about this, but its true. And its sad to think that my brother is missing out on these times. Selfishness get us nowhere. And nowhere is where “we” are right now little bro.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

