Home > College! > stereotypes

stereotypes


Today in my Organizational Behaviors class we talked about stereotypes, distortion, halo effects, organizational paradigms, contrast effects, self fulfilling prophecy, and attribution theory as it relates to the business environment. All of these help to shape the culture and behaviors inside a company and within employees of that company. Among all these, we discussed stereotypes the most. We talked about stereotyping in the workplace, across cultures, between races and how this affected the workplace. During the most heated point of the discussion one student said that a common stereotype was that all puerto ricans and blacks could dance, so I rebutted with “and white people cant!??!” (side note: I am the only caucasian in class. Actually I have been the “token white guy” in every class I have been in ha.) It was all in good fun and we laughed so dont think this went further into argument rather than discussion. As we laughed, I illustrated that white people CAN in fact dance and told them about my “dougie-ing” experience on the NY Giants field this past Sunday. To my surprise the class did not in fact know how to dougie so I had to “teach them how to dougie.” It was a pretty funny experience and I got a little embarrassed, but I needed that pick me up today bc last night’s sleep was hard to find.

Im feeling good after having some adrenaline coursing through my veins and am ready for the rest of this class. Two more hours and another class is off the books. Then on to the Snow Film Festival tonight in TriBeCa NYC for Revolver and shennigans thereafter.

  1. November 22, 2010 at 09:38

    • November 22, 2010 at 11:27

      Hands down the best editing of the entire film(Revolver) was done to this song.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

