Home > My Everyday Life > Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America

Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America


IAVA is a nonprofit movement designed at aiding the more than 2 million troops that have been deployed to either Iraq, Afghanistan, or both. Here is a blurb from their website IAVA.org.

“IAVA addresses critical issues facing new veterans and their families, including mental health injuries, a stretched VA system, inadequate health care for female veterans, and GI Bill educational benefits.

IAVA also provides valuable resources and empowers veterans to connect with one another, fostering a strong and lasting community.”

I joined this group a little more than two years ago and in this time I have observed huge changes in the way vets of our generation are now perceived in society, how we are being helped through legislature, and how we as vets are not being forgotten for sacrifices made. Through IAVA, vets are able to ask questions about subjects ranging from medical and educational needs to dealing with transitioning from military to civilian life. Before this group was established in 2004, there was no central place to answer the questions of a new age veteran. Now through an intuitive website, a social media campaign unlike any other vets group, and dedicated, passionate people, IAVA is making moves in Congress and around the country to better the lives of those still who have served and to preserve teh memory of those that have fallen. This organization is one that I hold near to my heart because of the changes I have already seen and experienced in my life since joining, but for the potential this group holds to ensure that we as veterans are not left in the cold.

The more I am privy to interactions with IAVA, the more I realize that I need to be involved, that WE need to be involved. IAVA has two locations, one in the NYC metro area and another in the DC metro area. Both are heavily populated areas of veterans and for those of you looking to do more, I recommend seeking out these people and getting involved with IAVA. It not only improves your life, but the lives of all those troops you and I flew with, and fought and served beside.

If you havent checked out the site before, here it is. IAVA.org

Ive benefitted from this organization already and I feel that those of you who have served will too. Not a vet or active duty member, there are other ways to support so please check it out and become an IAVA supporter in whatever way you can. No I did not get paid to write this, I wish I would get paid for my ramblings. This is merely an expression of thankfulness to an organization that has helped me many times and afforded me opportunities that I couldnt have imagined. If you dont believe me, read my next post.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

