Home > My Everyday Life > whales, vicious killers from the depths of hades?

whales, vicious killers from the depths of hades?


This could have been me!!

So a couple months back I wrote some posts praising whale watching and how amazing of an experience it was to be next to these incredible creatures. Well, now Im thinking twice about my whale endorsement. I mean this guy basically makes me look like I have no idea what I am talking about and you probably will stop reading my rants all because of this whale. I didnt know he was going to do this and I never would have suspected whales to be such conniving beasts. Maybe they are blood thirsty creatures sent from the depths of hades to deliver whale tail whacks to our million dollar yachts. Im not sure what to even believe in any more. I feel betrayed and I would like to apologize for my love fest of whales in earlier posts. I would like to retract these statements and let you decide for yourselves. Watch this horror if you dare…(its not really horror, its a crazy story out of South Africa, check it.)

Here’s the story straight from MSNBC today.

by Jennifer Carlile
msnbc.com
updated 7/21/2010 10:04:05 AM ET

A South African couple was out sailing near the country’s infamous Robben Island when a 40-ton whale breached and crash-landed on their yacht.

“We were watching the whale flipping its tail for about half an hour,” said Cape Town Sailing Academy Administrator Paloma Werner, who was enjoying a Sunday sail with her boyfriend and sailing instructor, Ralph Mothes.

“It reached about 100 to 200 meters from us, then it disappeared under water and reappeared about 10 to 20 meters from the boat, but we didn’t think we were on a collision course,” she told msnbc.com.
The young Southern Right Whale was longer than their 10-meter yacht — most likely between 11 and 14 meters — Werner said.

“My boyfriend told me to go to the other side of the boat,” she said, explaining that they thought it would dive under their vessel.

“All I heard him say was ‘Oh sh*&,’ and I saw the whale come out of the water and crash against the mast of the boat.

“I ducked behind the coach house and my boyfriend ducked behind the steering wheel and we saw the mast crashing toward us and the whale slip back into the water,” she said.

Whale tail to the face! Watch out when you are next on the high seas. These rogue whales could be anywhere. Consider yourselves warned!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

