Home > NYC Living > joseph abboud shoot day 2

joseph abboud shoot day 2


this is what I look like in the morning, no wonder I can't get a date!

Marimba from the iPhone, slap the snooze at 633 and kick nine more minutes of much-needed rest. Once again couldn’t sleep until late and ended up closing my eyes around 1. Thank God that the showtime wasnt at 0500 again or I would have been in some serious trouble. Especially since I was actually being paid to look pretty, I mean handsome, ha. The name of my alarm for the day was “beauty sleep didn’t do much for ya huh?” I don’t like having some lame alarm name like “alarm.” I must have something creative to make me laugh when I wake up or I’m probably not getting out of bed. This alarm could not have been more true as I looked in the mirror and saw some bloodshot eyes like I stayed up all night. Who knows where that came from, but I was a little worried that I looked beat up. Even the three extra hours didn’t seem to help.

I bounced up at 0642, took a quick shower and then got out the door. I hit the Path at 0706 and was at our shoot locale by 0725. It was unreal how efficiently the NYC people movers can be when they want to. From the

Larry, Nate and the rest of the photography staff

nightmare of the previous day (watching my train roll away and waiting for 30 minutes for the next, annoying) to this amazing feat of transportation and I was ecstatic. I happened to be the first one at the shoot with the next rolling in about 20 minutes later. I couldve slept for at least another 20 minutes! That probably would have made the difference in my droopy face, ha.

I was so much more relaxed today than yesterday and the entire cast felt the same. It was a breath of fresh air to have the first day under our belts and now we all knew what to expect for a day’s “work.” Even having the reps from Joseph Abboud and JC Penney say

Brian and Larry the photog

this to us was eye-opening. It definitely let me just have fun with the experience and to soak it all in. Who gets paid to do this kind of thing? Beanpoles with rippled abs, chiseled jaw lines and miracle hair, that’s who. That is most definitely not me, but for two days, I was lucky enough to be allowed to enter a world I never thought I would see. Its pretty exhilarating to be in front of the camera and just get to be the character you are dressed up as. I CANNOT even fathom what making a film must be like, but I am ABSOLUTELY going to pursue this next. No, I don’t have acting experience. No, I didn’t go to school for it. Yes, I want to try it and Yes, I will make it happen.

I only shot in one outfit the prior day and I was hoping to get dressed up in a suit for today. Unfortunately that didn’t happen but I did get into a sick purple shirt with some black dress slacks and a man-purse (“It’s where I keep all my things. I get a lot of compliments on this. Plus it’s not a man purse, it’s a satchel. Indian Jones wears one.” courtesy of “The Hangover.”) for my solo. Wardrobe

getting safety pinned up. the secret to amazing fitted clothes

change into a plaid button down, some jeans, and chuckas to shoot with Ryan as a double. Another switch back into the same outfit as the day prior and we do another shoot of the notorious quad! A new location with a little less light and a lot more rain! All four of us put in some extremely high stress struts back and forth for the camera and we got the shot right before the downpour.

We changed out of the outfits, for fear that I would drip gazpacho on ma-self, and ate another gorgeous lunch. I am a food FANATIC, so this type of catering is just heaven on earth for me. Once again the spread was knockout and I had to try every single portion there was to offer. Who would pass up sundried tomato salmon cakes with citrus remoulade or some watermelon, fresh grilled corn, and crumbled halloumi salad with pesto vinaigrette? What?!? I need to get famous as shit so I can eat like this all the time. The only thing, the ONLY thing, better would have been Bobby Flay dropping off some of his spicy cuisine. Maybe on my next gig Ill request that he cater the shoot. I figure that’s a reasonable request for us model types right?

the hustle before the downpour

They called the shoot after verifying the photos and another hour of the downpour. We grabbed a photo with all those involved, minus Larry the photog unfortunately, and congratulated everyone on a job well done. The Joseph Abboud reps thanked us and then rewarded us with some amazing clothing. I was given my outfit from the quad, the argyle zip up and plaid shirt, some incredible grey dress pants, and a couple other button down shirts. I was speechless! This is what it must feel like when our company throws out gear to the people who attend our events. Even IAVA got in the act with a tote bag, a T-shirt, and a water bottle. HIYO!! What an incredible end to the day.

We exchanged contact info, hugs, and congrats then parted ways. Brian, Tireak and I decided to grab a cab to stay out of the rain, but instead were mesmerized by bikini clad girls playing in the rain. As we approached, she asked if we wanted a drink and we all agreed that was the BEST possible thing we could do at that moment. We sat down, ripped a Jameson shot with a cheers to being models, and

I had a lowly slice of pizza today and felt sad. what a spread!

sipped Stellas and Coronas. A drink turned into 12ish and we were on our way by 230pm. I later learned that this bar was called “Hogs and Heifers”, a landmark bar in the NYC scene. The bar is filled with old memorabilia of Union workers, old road signs, an upside down motorcycle, and bras galore. I mean a poop ton of bras that riddled the walls. We were treated to a line dance on the bar as this spot was the original inspiration for the movie “Coyote Ugly” and had a blast really talking about our experiences with this photo shoot. Everyone agreed that this was the chance of a lifetime and we all hoped that this wasnt the last time we were able to do it.

As we sat, I noticed that someone of my crew or a supporter of our skate brand had already beat me to the bar we were now sitting in. I looked towards the window and saw a Bustin sticker which made me flip. I love finding these little treasures all over the city. It’s like a scavenger hunt everyday I roll into the city.

We left the bar around 4, said later to Tireak, and Brian and I hit the train to Manasquan to hang at my beach

datsalotta bras. if these walls could talk...it would be X Rated, ha

house. The night was an adventure in itself and luckily Brian got up at 0545 to catch his 0613 train back to NYC to go to college. Brian is a trooper for sure.

All in all, today was one of the most memorable I have had in such a long time. Thank you Joseph Abboud for inviting veterans to be a part of this launch. We are all so grateful for this opportunity, thank you. JC Penney, thanks for working with Abboud to create this experience. The style crew, Tommy, Larry and the photog crew, it was amazing. And finally IAVA. Thanks for creating an atmosphere where veterans are appreciated and get the help they (we) need. I have to say for a while there after leaving the military, I felt left behind. I know I am not the only one to feel like this and you are successfully helping us to readjust. Your amazing work has changed the face of veteran’s affairs in all aspects from Congress, to the education system, to our daily lives. Thank you. I look forward to working with you on my more occasions. Cheers.

  1. Jen
    July 15, 2010 at 13:58

    Nice talk about your day… HOWEVER, i think i deserve a special shoutout… i.e., the awesomeness that you three enjoyed your 12 drinks with!

    • July 15, 2010 at 16:39

      Jen I usually dont put in names unless I have permission, but since you have consented, I will give you that much deserved shout out. Look for my edit. Thanks again. I think you are going to be seeing some more of the crew tonight.

  2. July 23, 2010 at 15:54

    oops. i just read your outfit for day 2.
    ignore previous comment.
    šŸ™‚

    • July 23, 2010 at 15:58

      Jax, you kill me! I was deemed “too casual and too sporty of a body type for the suits” guy. At least I got to put on some type of classy outfit. We are actually going to be on the JC Penney website so you can see in an interactive video or something. Im going to die when that comes out in the fall

  1. August 26, 2010 at 00:29

Leave a Reply

