in 6 hrs 20 minutes


C130 into Afghanistan with the crew

I have to be in the meat packing (hehe) district in NYC for a photo shoot. I am nervous as hell and I cant even really think of sleeping right now. I racked out in the back of the car for about an hour today, got back and watched a movie, and now I am wide awake. SHITE! Im hoping this nervous energy subsides and I can get some beauty rest because God knows I need that since I DO NOT photograph well.

20 days ago I received an email from an organization I belong to called the Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America or IAVA for short. The email was calling for all vets in the NYC area to come out for a casting call for a suit designer named Joseph Abboud. You can read the rest of the details on a previous blog entitled Today Was a Good Day.

I have no idea what to expect right now, but know that I cannot be late to this and that I am working for almost 12 hours a day for the next 2 days. Haha I said “working”. I bet its not as easy as I think its going to be. I shouldve asked my model friends the Davenports to help me with my “Blue Steel” look. They have it down pat.

Oh, I was asked to bring some candid photos of me while I was in the military so here’s the ones I picked. I figure I can tell a little something about each and make it funny, but there are three in there that are going to either make or break me. I havent shown these to anyone and no one knows about these unless you were flying over Afghanistan with me. I feel like showing you the “stache” pics is already a mistake, but here’s to being spontaneous. Cheers.

i look vintage


They let me fly a $65mil aircraft with that stache!


sitting out the back of my bird on Bagram AFB


forever repping MD (flew every night I flew, thanks pops)


sitting on the bunk


working at my station


balls deep in afghanistan


in front of our bird

  1. Laura Duffey
    July 11, 2010 at 23:16

    Love the pics Matt….just ran across from DLI ones including your going-away pics, will have to send those to you. So…miss flying around in that bird at all?

    • July 11, 2010 at 23:22

      I CANNOT WAIT TO SEE THOSE PICS. the most important pic being the first one you guys ever took of me before you realized I was a cool guy that just happens to sleep not-so-pretty. I need that pic from the bus! And yes, I cannot believe its been almost 3 years since I flew my last mission. I hate that time has gone so quickly and miss the shit out of that flying feeling. Soak it all in LT

  2. Laura Duffey
    July 12, 2010 at 00:16

    hehe….since Annie is here at Goodfellow, I’ll see if she has the bus pic…hehe. You need to make a trip to awesome San Angelo to see us!! šŸ™‚ We’ll do a weekend in Austin or San Antonio or something. Email me ur address and I’ll send u those pics.

    • July 12, 2010 at 20:16

      Ill do Austin or San Antonio for sure. How long are you two there for? Ill email you my address, thanks again. I hope Annie has that bus pic. I still have never seen it.

  3. sleach
    July 12, 2010 at 18:14

    where’s the shot of you on the toilet?! (On your last flight… I forget what your term was for flights)

    • July 12, 2010 at 20:12

      Ha! I thought about putting that in there, but I didnt think that would be good in a catalogue. A flight equals a sortie

  1. August 26, 2010 at 00:29

Leave a Reply

