Home > NYC Living, Pics, Video > today was a good day

today was a good day


Every time I think this phrase, I cant help but let my mind wander back to the days when I was a little OG back in Compton. The Streets is hot and my boy Ice Cube was on the prowl in his lowrider Impala hitting switches while rolling by the bacon. That, my friends, was a good day.

And so was today. It started out slow as molasses and I thought that I might go insane with sitting on the couch and finishing homework. That all changed though when I got an email invite to a casting call for suit designer Joseph Abboud. Now I dont know this guy from Adam, that’s a Bible reference, but his suits are pretty legit from what I have seen. Either way, I skated out to 650 Fifth Ave at 52nd and took the elevator up to the 27th floor. I felt like a baller bc this place was pristine. Luckily I think ahead because the humidity today was up there. I swapped out a sweaty for a freshy and strutted into the showroom with my board in tow.

Joseph Abboud showroom

I got a couple strange looks from the help, but why do I care. Im doing me and not compromising. Filled out some paperwork and then was asked to the interview area. I asked, “I hope I smell ok bc Ive been skating to get here on time and I would hate to be the stinky kid of the casting.” Once again because I think ahead, I had some cologne on hand to save the day and had already prepped. The pretty ladies all took a whiff and I got some compliments as well as some laughs. (In case you didnt notice, that’s a good sign…Laughs that is) They asked about my board and I told them we are building an empire in BK right now that is soon to take over the longboard scene. Might be a stretch but I handed them all business cards and got some more laughs as they asked if I had called this meeting. (laughs #2)
“I see here on your paperwork that you are unemployed,” she asks. I reply, “Ma’am that is entirely by choice.” (Insert shit eating grin right here and queue laughs #3) “I got out of the military in 07 to help with our company and was over worked and underpaid, all while loving it. Now I am back in school courtesy of the GI BIll and taking full advantage of this opportunity to have some real time off.”

“That’s a great answer. What have you been doing in your spare time?” she asks. “I have been jetsetting and bus-setting all over the map and throwing in a little beach time as well.” They liked that I made up my own words and I invited them to come down to the Jersey Shore for a weekend. (laughs #4) I have one confirmed and thought about telling the others to RSVP.

Since the two interviewers were laughing so hard, other pretty ladies from the office decided to see what all the fuss was about. All in all, I had the entire showroom staff, giggling right out of their heels. They ended the interview because another applicant had walked in, heard the laughing, and walked right back out. Im not sure why, but maybe he thought the battle was lost. Buck up soldier, you have as good a chance as I.

I changed into one of their suits, snapped some pics, flashed my chipped tooth smile and concluded the casting. I walked around to thank all of the women for their time and made sure to give them one final laugh. Hope that all made me stick out enough to get hired for this photo shoot. This dude could use the $1500 fo sho. Plus the winner gets a tailored suit and will be placed in print ads all over the world. I should probably stop eating, like yesterday, because if Im going to be a model, I got drop like 30 L Bs. I dont even know where I would use a suit, but I would probably rock it out in NYC sometime. Today was a good day.

Portu -GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOLLLLLLLL! in Times Square

Left 52nd and just cruised the rest of the way home. Stopped in at H&M for some spontaneous shopping to grab a couple belts, some tanks, and other fancy shirts then headed for Times Square. Once there I took a seat in the middle of the pedestrian zone and just watched the people go by. This is something that I love to do, I definitely get it from my pops. This probably went on for about 30 minutes. Checking out all the jumbo advertisements inundating me, I found the Portugal v North Korea soccer game playing. What a blowout. Seven goals is incredible, but watching this happen in Times Square makes it that much mo better. After the game, I helped some French ladies with a survey on the World Cup, flirted a bit and then pushed the streets some more.

Decided to stop in at a friends store on the way home, shot the poo for a couple minutes, then headed out to beat the rain. I got back just in time for it to start coming down harder, so once again, today was a good day. A little snack, some more homework and then off to Crossfit to work ma body. I cant believe how intense this workout is, I say this to myself every day I go. Mad sweaty and feeling like the only perscription is a cold shower and the Fray’s “Cable Car”. I dont know where the song came from but for some reason it worked. Some cinnamon scented candles and dim the lights down real low…NAH, Im kidding. That might be a little over the top.

That pretty much concluded my day. The rest was consumed with more homework, chatting up the roomies, and watching “Band of Brothers” from HBO. Now Im here writing it all down so I dont forget about the day. It was just a feel good day. An ego boosting day. Chill and spontaneous, which are two of my favorite things. Oh, to top it off, read the previous post. My girls are repping!

In the immortal words of NWA’s finest, “Today was a good day.”

  1. June 25, 2010 at 10:35

    Likes.

  2. February 10, 2011 at 02:09

    are you real? seriously

    • February 10, 2011 at 12:33

      not sure what that means, but I am flesh and bones for sure. I love reliving this day. Hope there are a million other days like it. Well, not a million because I would be 2,739.72603 years old and would be modeling in a museum right next to King Tutankhamun’s musty ass.

  1. July 11, 2010 at 23:14

Leave a Reply

