Home > My Everyday Life > still on tucson time

still on tucson time


I was lucky enough to rack out around midnight last night, but tonight is going to be different I think. Its 0130, I watched the Lakers win (damn), I finished up the series finale of 24 (good, but its no LOST), and now I am wide awake laying in my new bedroom. Im supposed to catch a bus to Boston (its actually split time between the Cape and Boston) tomorrow, but I kinda feel like sleeping all day in my bed. If I did that my mom would kill me because I am supposed to be in MA by 530 so she can pick me up on her way in. I guess I wont disappoint, but I am feeling down right out of place at this moment. I know I am coming off the high of being back in Tucson and having such a great crew around, but it might be more than that.

Im almost 30, Im back in school, but have no true path to where I want to be in life. Is this my midlife crisis happening 20 years too early? Could be. If so, where’s my shiny red sports car and my sexy arm candy? Sometimes I feel like Im doing the right thing, but then there are other times where I feel like I am just kidding myself. I dont want to work all my life, but right now I am on pace to do just that since I have nothing to show. In a couple months I will have a piece of paper that says Im a college grad and then a year and some change from there I should have another paper that says I Mastered Management, but then what? I know that’s down the road, but I have so many accomplished friends, so many people with strict paths to success and here I am in a rented room the size of a closet with nothing but a bed to my name. A crappy-ass bed at that. One that I am offering up on craigslist soon because it is unlucky, if you catch ma drift. “That” is definitely not a top priority for me, but figuring out a life plan I guess is.

At times Im so confident about my carefree lifestyle and thankful that the GI Bill affords me this time to reflect. But in the same breath, am I wasting time by taking this time? School is a joke like I wrote previously and not having a job is some what making me crazy. I may have too much time on my hands. We will see if I still feel the same after I make good use of the shore house this summer, but for now, this is where Im at. I finally get to head “down the shore” (New Joysians drop the “to” because they are super lazy) the 13th of June and Im thinking about living down there 3-4 days a week. Not a ton of weekends, but a lot of relaxing beach time during the week. Im pretty sure hearing those waves and feeling that sand between my Flintstone toes will send all this worry to another place.

Six hour Boston bus ride in less than nine hours. Not looking forward to another cramped seat for the duration but Im excited to go whale watching! Oh, and spend time with mom and the Nanners. Me and two old ladies, that’s an interesting trio.

  1. Nick
    June 4, 2010 at 07:01

    Red Bull internship. Do it while you have the time and financing available.

    • June 4, 2010 at 11:49

      So true. I am reading up on this right now. Maybe I can get you a date with Travis Pastrana, you’d love that.

  2. Nick
    June 4, 2010 at 12:02

    Oh, that reminds me, I need to call him to catch up. Don’t worry, I’ll drop your name.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

