Home > My Everyday Life, Pics > been away awhile, but now Im back

been away awhile, but now Im back


3 clowns

I havent written anything in the last couple weeks because I have been doing a lot of thinking…I really mean drinking. One of my oldest and dearest friends, Kevin Lowe, is being stationed in Okinawa, Japan for 3 years so I figured I could put my simple life on hold to enjoy some fun times with him before his departure.

He left on a 17 hour plane ride yesterday with his family in tow; Leslie his amazing wife and their 3 year old daughter, Presley. (yesterday was her birthday!) I hope the flight went well and the little lady didnt get too antsy on that long of a ride being held captive.

Two weeks ago I hitched a ride on the Megabus to Bmore where my father picked me up to make the final leg of our trip back to my hometown of HagerVegas (better known as Hagerstown). I think that’s a run-on sentence, but I dont really care at this point. I spent the next two weeks in a blur of family, friends, booze, and good times. Part of me was happy to be home, but the other part of me felt like this place wasnt REALLY my home anymore. Things are still familiar, I still get recognized, get to see some of the people I grew up with, but at the same time its different. I guess that’s part of growing older and moving around, but it’s just sad in a way to finally realize you dont fit in there anymore. In a way, I feel I have out grown my hometown. ( I hope my friends back home dont take offense to this statement. Please understand what I have done in my life: 6 years serving in the world’s greatest Air Force, 2 tours in Afghanistan, and moving 16 times over the last 10 years. If you dont understand my statement and are offended, get over it, or dont)

It was harder to fill the time there then ever before. Many times, Kevin and I were at a loss for something to do and just did the most random thing we could think of doing. Here is a list of the things we came up with.
Drive go karts – failed bc it isnt open during the week
Bowl 10 frames (best 2/3) – failed bc it wasnt open on weekdays before 6pm
Cruise the Dual – succeeded bc we couldnt really think of anything random that would work
(the “Dual” is the Dual Highway that runs the length of our town and all the cool kids drive their cars up and down it. enough said)
Lap around the mall – succeeded bc it was open and there was no one there
Take a pic with Ronald – picture evidence above
Drive to Frederick for a cup of cream of crab soup – hour round trip for some of the best soup I have ever had, eat in the car in the parking lot
Drive by Kev’s old house in Frederick where he grew up (Ive only been there once, but I remembered the neighborhood. Felt crazy)
Test drive cars – thought about this, but never got around to it
Paintball – nowhere to make this happen
Lots of pool – actually Kevin is up one game on me. Til next time friend, practice up.

All in all, it was great to see this guy and hang with his fam. It always seems like we needed more time. Ill get that “more time” when I go to Oki this fall!

  1. Becky
    April 14, 2010 at 15:04

    Loved this post but it’s almost sad. You’ll find your place! P.S. Not much to do in Hagersvegas except drink!

    • April 14, 2010 at 15:23

      It was sad coming to this realization but Kevin and I talked about it everyday how it just didnt feel right anymore. It always holds a special place in my heart, but its just not home. I think my place might be costa rica. Never has been much to do in HV except drink and we all know I love that. Especially with you Bex. Ill bring a bottle of whiskey back the next time for us to go through.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

