Home > Pics, Stay dreaming > ode to IN N OUT

ode to IN N OUT


A couple weeks ago In-N-Out burger came up in conversation so I figured I would share my thoughts on this delectable burger joint.

In-N-Out is a burger like no other in the world. Many Americans have not experienced In-N-Out bc it is a family owned operation that runs only in a couple states like NV, CA, and AZ. The most famous and heavily trafficked In-N-Out is at LAX and for good reason. I think that this destination is my favorite for two reason; 1) being a prior aircrew member, I love to watch and hear the airplanes coming in for a landing, and 2) this location lets me know that I am back in LA for the Summer X Games!

A little In-N-Out history.
– started in 1948 by Harry and Esther Snyder
– first to use a two-way speaker instead of carhops, used everywhere in fast food today
– 140 locations
– no microwaves
– everything fresh to order, never frozen
– milkshakes are made with real ice cream
– fries are made from whole potatoes, hand diced in front of your eyes
– has a ultra simplistic menu consisting of burgers, sodas, fries and, shakes
– has a secret online menu, includes its own lingo for diehard fans

And now a poem I have titled

“my love for a cheeseburger, dub dub”

my life and my tummy seem less full when we are apart
I long for our meetings, though few, with all of my heart
upon landing in LAX, I can smell your delights
who cares about x games, you’re the reason I take the flights
hustle through claims, gotta grab the rental with a quickness
need that dub dub ASAP, gotta feed this fresh to order sickness
fresh to order, fresh to death
#2, no onions, too bad for my breath
dub dub, dub dub
I’d eat a tub…of your hand diced fries
the smell of YOUR burgers
brings tears to my wanting eyes
Toasted bun, 2 patties, 2 cheese
lettuce, tomato, and special sauce please
unwrap this greasy delight
open the wax paper, oh what a sight
mash dub dub to a manageable size
feel your juices drip on my thighs
new jeans, who cares?
we have been reunited once again
80% lean, patty pairs
ill eat myself into gluttonous tummy pain
first bite’s amazing, too good to describe
second nibble’s unreal, something like a burgery bribe
If I were police and you were speeding
this is your ticket to go free
“what’s that on your lap, a dub dub or are you happy to see me?”
Harassment, no, you’re obviously mistaken
should have gotten a 4 by 4, maybe a shake and…
totally finished, filled to the brim
wipe my mouth, silly me, there’s something on my chin
save it for later? nah eat it right now
get out while you can chubby cow
as I drive away and on out of sight
I “moo” in relief and revel at every juicy bite

That’s all off the cuff people!! I felt like writing forever, but then I remembered there could always be version 2.0.

If you think you love In-N-Out more than me, maybe you should write a poem too. maybe a ballad of sorts.
Pull over and enjoy if you see the sign. All these things I have described are true and you will be more than pleased that you took the time. I just rhymed again and I’m awesome, at least that’s what my mom says.

Categories: Pics, Stay dreaming Tags: ,
  1. Regina
    March 16, 2010 at 13:20

    Hahaha…I love this!!! Feel bad for ever person who has never been to In n Out Burger cuz it is definitely the best and better than all the rest!!! Just wish one day it will come to good ol MD!!!

    • March 16, 2010 at 23:22

      you are the first to reply to my blog EVER! Thanks for checking it out and for loving my poetry!

  2. Danny
    March 17, 2010 at 03:44

    Dude I wait for your Eegees Haiku- pure bliss, way more exotic than In n Out. You forgot Animal style in your order- it’ll change the way you look at life

  3. March 20, 2010 at 00:41

    I just had my first In-N-Out burger and it is heavenly!

  4. February 7, 2011 at 21:27

    I am so incredibly sad that I went to Whattaburger in AZ instead of In-N-Out… oh and I didn’t go there at LAX either. FML

    oh and you may be crazy, but I kinda like it

  1. August 17, 2010 at 00:18
  2. February 7, 2011 at 22:09

Leave a Reply

